Lyme and a Coconut

chronic lyme disease with a taste of nut

The Horrible Sitcom: Babs & Bart

One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight
Schemeel, schlemazel,  Hasenfeff Inc

Yes, ladies and gents, it’s like a bad sitcom (except “Laverne & Shirley” was a great, classic sitcom!): Bart & Babs. Unlike Laverne and Shirley, these two don’t come with cute taglines or cuter outfits. But, like Laverne and Shirley, one can usually be found hanging around the other.

Dr W. said it was likely I had both co-infections. We are currently targeting the Bart (Bartonella), however, because of the severity of the psychological symptoms as well as the neurological component. Do you know what is stinking hilarious? I thought that since we were treating Bart that meant that good ol’ Babesia wouldn’t come a-callin until I was done.

This was the imagined conversation:

Bart: “Oh nooooo!! Don’t keeel [kill] me, Lisa…Nooo….Dr. W…. noooo” (Bart desperately tries to hang on to the veins and capillaries and biofilms and all that jazz)

Lisa: “Ha! Take this, Bart! I’ll throw some Pinella at you! Here! I’ll shove some Rifampin down your throat! Ha!”

Babs: (clears throat in a high-pitched voice) “Ahem…uh, hello Miss Lisa (Babs mysteriously has a southern drawl). I just wanted you to know that I respect you so much that I won’t be making an appearance until you’ve adequately eradicated my friend, Bart, here, mmkay? (in a whisper) Just wanted you to know. Go ahead with what you were doing, now…”

Do you see the flaw in my logic there? What actually is going on is this:

Bart and Babs have taken over this woman’s body. They wear party hats and blow kazoos and grab hold of the neurotransmitters and do a conga dance down the bloodstream.

Bart: “Woo hoo! Everybody dance! Shake your watoosie! (Lisa’s brain swells like a melon which causes puh-tewies) Grrr! Everybody raaaage!!!!”

Babs: “Want some more snacks, Barty? Sugar is all we need! Wahhooo! Make her sweat and stink and shiver and shake! That’s what we’re talkin about!” 

So…my hilarious mistake was thinking that targeting one lyme co-infection meant that the other co-infection was mysteriously immobilized. Like Babs felt, out of the kindness of her heart, that she wouldn’t start her chaotic hex on me quite yet.

Or maybe I was just ignoring her. It’s much easier to keep track of one co-infection rather than two. Much easier to learn about the one and memorize all the big words that are hard to pronounce. Yep, that’s it. I was ignoring Babs and she didn’t like it one bit.

can't hear you

at least I was polite about it

So now that we have this lovely misunderstanding cleared up. I do believe some introductions are in order. I’ve just been learning some intriguing things about our new guest here. The following web site is a great resource for Babesia and learning about it with non-technical terms.

really great resource found here. 

When my friend pointed me to that page, I read it and discovered me all over it. And what is weird is that it all just kind of happened today.

Whaaaat? Not on Saturday? Oh, I was sick in bed yesterday (Saturday) as well, but today was the day Babs came to stay for some reason. Still, I now see weekends are going to be my “special” time, just me and the co’s, hanging out in the bedroom, all twitchy and achy-like.

Today was different because my autonomic nervous system went crazy. My feet were ice. cold. bricks. Bricks that felt like they were being stabbed by a hot poker, but freezing all the same. My arms felt like an iceberg was melting and flowing downward, from head, down my cheeks, down my shoulders, all the way down to my toes. Except..this is where it gets fun…one minute it’d be an iceberg melting and a strange, cold numbness flowing…and the next minute it’d be hot lava tumbling down the same area – with the pin pricks, too.

Hello, dysautomoia! Learn about this new friend here! I agree with my colleague in all things lyme-like, Tara, over at “Will There Be Cake” (you’ll notice I reference her a lot; I ‘m kinda in love with her blog and think she’s the bee’s knees and also the most read-able lymie I’ve found) when she says she’s tired of spelling out the whole word (dysa-whowhatsit?)…so I’ll just call it Dysa from now on. Kinda catchy.

Anyway, so Dysa came to visit me today as I was confined to my bed feeling hot and cold and muggy and clammy and all that fun stuff. Dysa and Babs seem to be BFF’s, fyi…

So speaking of Babs, another fun and freaky symptom that rocked my world today were the sinus migraines. I’ve had migraines before. Heck, back in 2002 I remember getting a doozy of a migraine that lasted for three days, I believe. I had to be taken to the ER and sent home with Imitrex. I’ve never had a migraine that bad before or since…I wonder if that had anything to do with…

Ah, tangents…anyway, I never really had horrible migraines except a handful of times but in the past two years or so, I’ve gotten some doozies. Sinus migraines, as far as I can tell, and it just so happens that Babs keeps a bunch of them in her cocktail purse.

It felt like my “consciousness” was focused in my nose. Go ahead, laugh it up. If you know me, you also know my rather large nose, so I guess this would be a good time to pause and chuckle.

Ok, you’re done now.

So all of my awareness would be in the front of my head and the room would move around like I was on some ship at sea during a violent storm. Everything would shift and a less-than-beautiful ringing in my right ear sounded and reverberated through me. My head felt buzzy and vibrate-y, my whole body seeming to blur like in those awful movies that show someone time-traveling (I’m currently watching Stargate Universe with my husband so think about how they would blur when the ship would come out of FTL drive)

people-blur2

non-FTL-blur and dizziness

The American Dysautonomia Institute says this about its namesake:

  Dysautonomias (forms of autonomic neuropathy) are disorders of the autonomic nervous system (ANS). The ANS is the part of the nervous system that controls all automatic bodily functions.  Due to these disorders, the human body fails to properly regulate blood pressure, heart rate, temperature, vascular constriction/dilation, and blood supply to the brain. The results are unpredictable fainting, extremely low blood pressure, light-headedness, dizziness, problems concentrating (brain fog), headaches, fatigue, heart palpitations, exercise intolerance, insomnia, hot flashes, chills, weakness, seizures, pain, and disability.   Yet the symptoms continue because dysautonomia affects all of the bodily systems including the digestive and urinary tracts and many more.

So that was me all day, dysa-ing all over the place. Sweats and chills, twitching, puh-tewing, pain-ing (is that a verb?) and other things listed. Because this was the first time my temperature regulation issues have caused this massive of a problem, I’m thinking that Babs has officially joined the party.

Except she’s not nearly as good a dancer as Lucy.

This blog post will officially end now, mid-quip, because my brain feels like it’s going to pop and ooze out my ears and nobody wants that. Another Babs symptom: brain pressure.

I’ll leave you with an image that may help you feel what I feel….take a look and experience the weird, wacky dizziness that lyme vertigo brings

Fun times…

— lymie out…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2015 by in Babesia, neurological lyme, sarcasm as coping, the Weird and tagged , , , .
Follow Lyme and a Coconut on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other followers

Categories

Invisible Illness Awareness

One Year of Bee Venom Therapy

December 18th, 2016
1 year of Bee Venom Therapy!
Wraith Infirmity Muses

A Literary Magazine that gives platform to writers and artists with invisible illness.

LifeLoveLyme

Staying grounded while recovering from Lyme disease

Bloody Lymey

A Blog About Living with Lyme Disease

Welcome

Radical hope. Compassionate change. 501(c)3 non profit

Lyme, Arizona, and me

My journey in getting treatment for Lyme Disease

The Daily Advocate By Painspeaks

Advocacy is FREE and its never-ending ripples spread awareness for all worthy causes!

The Lymie Limey

A Lyme Disease Blog from Bruce county ontario

lauraslymerecovery

Recovery from Lyme Disease, chronic pain, and fatigue

From Lyme to Life

How the light gets in.

chronicallyhoping

My Journey With Bee Venom Therapy

